Birmingham Social Media Cafe

Photo: Melissa Becker

In the day after the discussion about Social Media and Globalisation, I attended another event related to this topic: the Birmingham Social Media Cafe.

It takes place on Coffee Lounge (10-11 Navigation Street), from 10am to noon, on the last Friday of every month, and attracts people interested in social media to gather, get acquainted, chat, plot, scheme, and share, as its blog says.

I was quite impressed to see how people engaged on Social Media in Birmingham are organized. The meetings started on August/September 2008 in the same cafe, located in the city centre (my last project on Zero Hora was the Café ZH, so I was very interested about how this different cafe is going on).

On this video, Chris Unitt speaks about how the Birmingham Social Media Cafe began:

 

* * *

In the morning of May 28th, the coffee shop was lively (I could say the video’s audio can show that, but the true is: that’s my amateur equipment!). I was invited to this event by Karen Strunks (@karenstrunks). As soon as I got in, people said hello and introduced themselves to me, very friendly. Since then, I’m following – and being followed by – new @s from Birmingham on Twitter, like @pigsonthewing, @ChrisUnitt (thanks a lot for your attention, Chris and Andy!), @visit_bham, @simonhowes and @heidigoseek – and many others I was introduced by Twitter. To me, it’s a great opportunity to meet interesting people, know more about the city, learn and share about social media.

The next event: http://www.birminghamsmc.com/2010/06/01/next-event-25-june-2010/

One thought on “Birmingham Social Media Cafe

Leave a Reply

