The lenses which I look through

I bought my first digital camera in 2005, for using during a trip to Bahia. It was a Sony Cybershot DSC-S40, 4.1 megapixels, Carl Zeiss lens. Must say I was happy with that, because I could take photos like these (well, I like them):

Vai um acarajé aí? - Salvador, Bahia (September 2005)

Sunset in Punta Del Este, Uruguay (2009)

During my work at Zero Hora for the neighbourhoods’ supplements, we were required for taking photos as well. Then I used some newspaper’s equipments, like newer Cybershot and Nikon Coolpix models (to be honest, I hate those Nikon cameras: the photos’ colours were always pale, very different from Nikon’s professional cameras). Some photos I’d taken with my Cybershot and had been published on the newspaper are on my Flickr account (check here).

But about two months ago, my Cybershot died. Well, after five years…

R.I.P.

In March, I got an ActionSampler from the Lomography shop in Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, for R$ 84 (like 30 euros). Just used two films until now, and some shots of the last one you can check here.

Actionsampler, Lomography for a little bit of fun

It has four independent lenses, and their shots happen with some time difference, so we can see four frames in one frame with a little difference of time and position – below, we can notice that by the sunlight in the first one and the by the child and doves in the second one. One of the films I used since I left Brazil, in April, to come to England and have it developted this week. And, yes, as I was stranded for eight days in Spain because the volcano ashes, I enjoyed my time there and took photos like these:

Fountain at Paseo del Prado, Madrid (April 2010)

St George's Day (Sant Jordi) at Plaça Catalunya, Barcelona (April 2010)

New toy

Why do I use a camera with film if a digital camera can do the same effect of four frames in only one? Because it’s fun – as it doesn’t have a viewer, you don’t know what you actually photographed, you have that old feeling of waiting for the development… Yes, some photos are null, but I do have some good surprises.

Now I’m trying to remember all I learnt at university, during two years of photojournalism studies ( 😮 ), to use this Nikon D3000 – it’s a demi professional camera, very popular with begginers because it has a guide programm, which allows you to set the camera for your goals easily on screen. I’m trying to avoid this resource and do some shots as I can remember, and maybe that’s why I am still waiting for its best results! Until now, I have been “playing” with that, but I hope I could improve my skills and, in future, buy more powerful lens (yeah!) for wonderful shots.

* * *

Before going digital

Well, yes, I tried something before that… When I was a child, the best camera in my family was a Love (remember its flash?), what registered all my birthdays’ parties. My mother had an Instamatic, but she hated it because the 10×10 printed photos. Then, to learn photo at university, I bought a Pentax (can’t remember the model!). The only automatic resource it has is the rewind – all the other things are manual. And I am a disaster to adjust the focus manually!! So my beloved Pentax is untouched in its case in Brazil for looong years. Hope we can have some fun in future again.

One thought on “The lenses which I look through

  1. Pingback: Dunes « Melissa Becker

Leave a comment