Performance on the stage during the Diwali celebrations in Birmingham (UK), October, 2010 - Photo: Melissa Becker

On the spotlight

I’m starting the organization of some photos I took while I was in Birmingham (UK) – but it might be just a plan! I found this shot below, which I took during the Diwali Celebrations at NIA, on October 31st, 2010. What I like the most is her gestures.

Performance during the Diwali in Birmingham (UK), 2010 - Photo: Melissa Becker

I went there to take some photos, test how my camera’s performance (and mine!) would be. Photographing concerts or other darker places, with continuous lightening changes, is challenging – plus, I’m aware that I don’t have a proper equipment. But it was interesting and good for learning – from this day, I started to explore the camera settings in different ways.

(Oh, and I learnt that Diwali is one of the biggest events in the Indian calendar! In Brazil, the Indian community is small, so we’re not so familiar with the Indian traditions)

Leave a Reply

