Tango in Cafe Tortoni, Buenos Aires (Argentina), September, 2011. Camera: Lomo Action Sampler - Photos: Melissa Becker

Tango in Buenos Aires

What’s more difficult: dance a tango or take good shots of people dancing?

I love photos from concerts, shows and plays, and I’ve done some concerts (here and here, for example). However, since university I know I have to improve my skills in order to have a bigger variety of great shots in these cases – changing lights and fast movements are still a challenge for me (hopefully, I’ll be working on it soon).

In Buenos Aires, last August, we’ve been at the traditional Cafe Tortoni – a place with a wonderful atmosphere for having a churros con chocolate, or even a simple coffee. They also have tango shows, not so pompous as other venues in Buenos Aires, but we decided to have a go there. It was really nice, but I couldn’t avoid releasing the shutter lots of times (oh, Gosh, what a shame!).

Honestly, I haven’t looked at those photos carefully yet, but I had the most recent film from my Lomo developed some weeks ago!  I hadn’t many hopes that I could get any shot from the tango show with such a simple camera and film… But at least one of them (below) impressed me.

Tango show at the traditional Cafe Tortoni, Buenos Aires (Argentina), August, 2011. Camera: Lomo Action Sampler - Photos: Melissa Becker

Tango show at Cafe Tortoni, Buenos Aires (Argentina), August, 2011. Camera: Lomo Action Sampler

Dancer at the Cafe Tortoni's tango show, Buenos Aires (Argentina), August, 2011. Camera: Lomo Action Sampler

x

Leave a Reply

